twenty ow-nine

It was in January when I have to stay late until 1:00 in the morning (Manila Time) just to take a look at the inauguration of the first African American President of the United States of America – watching big names and personalities march toward that significant venue and see Barack Obama take oath as the new President – taking his slogan with NEW HOPE AND ‘CHANGE WE NEED’

I got three slices of pizza from a local fast food and keep the ‘box’ until now (until 2010)….literally! I don’t know, it never came to me to dispose the box….I just put them on my table with piles of papers, scratch papers and magazines on top

It was in March, officially taking our Bachelor’s degree during the Commencement with TOYM awardee as our guest-speaker, who is also an alumnus of DLSU…however, prior to that main even, I was feeling unwell

By the fourth month, I must say it was the peak of my vacation – A BIG BREAK after four years in the academe. That time, I was thinking, ‘finally! I can lay down and take a rest as much as I want…read books and wll be able to finish the novel I bought in September 2007’
I was also watching MODEL – a sort of documentary of some succesful supermodel such as Giselle, Astrid, Ines and Loneke to name a few

…ON THAT SAME MONTH, I got fever as what I’ve had on the previous month…but while taking a rest, that was the last time I got an opportunity to consistenly watch CASE UNCLOSED….

One day in April, my blockmate and I decided to go to a jobfair without any fix plan on our heads – we just got there, signed and then submitted our resume without thinking too much whether we’ll be hired in the coming weeks or worse, if we have ‘chance’ either

On April 27th, I was able to watch Secret Window, the movie adaptation from Danielle Steel’s book Secret Window, Secret Garden.

By May, I was hardly trying to finish the novel Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (the novel I bought in September 2007) while waiting for even a phone call about the status of my job application. It was a past time indeed whilst waiting for the so-called “luck”, however, I failed! It was a pale and sort of laid-back month for me – I was doing nothing except that I was waiting for my luck and finishing Bronte’s novel.

…It was reported that RECESSION IS ON ITS 18th MONTH

Anyway….

No luck, turned to last resort – I applied online and by the last day of May, I received an invitation for an interview in Eastwood, SCHEDULE: TOMORROW

FAILED AND PASSED – A TRULY DESPERATE TURN
(wednesday failed and friday passed)

By the first week of June, I passed the interview and then signed the contract the following day (it was Saturday) and eventually, I was happy…I thought ‘grab the chance, this might be the start’….’take this job or you may end up nothing…c’mon it’s hard to find a career these days’….however, they made us wait for a month before we got officially hired. And in between those days, I was busy getting all the requirments which I’m not really serious in pursuing.

The other story is, while waiting for July, which is the start of “our” pre-hire orientation, I applied as a ‘freelance writer’ – the good thing is, it’s an online job! And to tell you honestly, THIS WAS THE VERY FIRST SERIOUS JOB I GOT SINCE THEN. I received a congratulatory note from the Admin and they activate my account.
I officially started my “freelance writing job” by the end of June and SUBMITTED MY FIRST ACADEMIC WRITE -UP BY FIRST WEEK OF JULY in which, shortly after that is our PRE-HIRE ORIENTATION.

To make the story short, I SIGNED THE CONTRACT, AND TAKE MY FIRST WORK IN THE BPO INDUSTRY WHICH I AM NOT REALLY SERIOUS ABOUT!

IT’S A LONG BUT SENSIBLE STORY BUT THE WHOLE POINT IS, I AM NOT SERIOUS WITH THE JOB!

I AM AFTER WITH THE NOT-SO-FULFILLING SALARY!!!

Come July and I just see myself attending the PRE-HIRE ORIENTATION and then voila! As they say, the rest was history! You know the feeling when you engaged youself in  a certain activity without that sort of serious commitment, and the only thing that motivates you is–

And then from July – the second half of year 2009 I must say, was all dead! I’ll reapeat: IT’S A LONG BUT SENSIBLE STORY BUT THE WHOLE POINT IS, I AM NOT SERIOUS WITH THE JOB!

I’m sick!  And you know why it feels like dead? Try to go to a job that you not ‘really love’ with your only motivation is salary…

Anyway, I got the money to buy few books and movies….

Before the year closed, I was able to watch DIrty Dancing on ETC (the last Sunday of 2009) – the first time I watch this movie was when I was a senior high school.

I was watching the last news broadcast of CBS Evening News for the year when they made a highlight / recap of some of the important events that made 2009 a significant year. They also shown pictures of important personalities in politics, arts and entertainment who left us and that’s where I heard a famous quotation from Don Hewitt, a former host of 60 Minutes who convincingly says: “It’s just four little words: Tell me a story”

Leave a Reply

